In The Heat of the Final Essays

It would be a total cliché to start this post by saying, “You know, I haven’t posted a blog in two months,” but I just came out of a lecture for my Adaptation and Transgression class and the professor’s whole thesis was based on the politics of cliché, so I feel like this merits some extra-credit. This week we’re studying a book by Percival Everett called I Am Not Sidney Poitier which is in terms of plot basically an amalgamation of every Sidney Poitier film that has a protagonist named Not Sidney Poitier. It is at times funny, at times obviously meant to be funny, but always quite ingenious.

Also, my lit essay–if it ever gets written–is going to be on Woolrich’s/Hitchcock’s Rear Window and I TOTALLY HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO LEGITIMATELY USE THE WORD ‘DEFENESTRATION’ (Elodie, do you remember this?) :,)

I’m in the midst of those horrible, soul-sucking, last few weeks of semester, where you start to have The Thoughts and I am particularly prone to Thought #5 “I have too much to do, so maybe I should just do nothing” (I came home last night and sobbed on the couch for an hour before I was ready to tackle the effectiveness of invented characters to defend a cause or denounce an injustice in French.

Anyway, that’s what I should be doing now and for eternity or at least until mid-June.

2 thoughts on “In The Heat of the Final Essays

  1. I DO REMEMBER. IN HONOR OF THIS MOMENT IN OUR HISTORY I AM GOING TO USE THE WORD “DEFENESTRATION” AT LEAST THREE TIMES TONIGHT, SOMEHOW.

    ALSO I AM ROOTING FOR YOU. DON’T LET THE THOUGHTS WIN.

Leave a Reply

