Conversational Ping-Pong and Head-Targets

The morning started with a coffee and a chai latte. Well, actually, that’s not true. The morning started with a 5:45 am alarm, followed by a shower which I was only half-conscious of taking, and then driving myself and Jo to the train station. At the coffee cart at uni, I felt one of those ginormous rain drops plunk on my head – that variety of rain drop that seems so absurdly accurate in hitting your face that you swear someone was taking aim. Somehow, our conversation strayed to estimating the amount of time it would take to walk from one side of the campus to the other. “One time a girl in my class told me she calculates vectors to find the shortest route to class,” Jo said. I probably snort-choke-laughed on my latte.

Today was my last day of classes, and also the day I handed in an essay early (gasp!). There are two remaining assignments looming over next week, et puis, c’est fini! (For a while).

I wore inappropriately open shoes for the rainy weather. Of course. I walked past a strike. As you do. Lit class was great– partially because it was a wonderful text and partially because it’s the last week and I think everyone wanted to contribute to the discussion. Listening to the conversation was like watching a ping-pong ball bounce around our “campfire” chair circle set-up. The four or five principal ‘outspoken’ types could barely wait for each other to finish their sentences.

Anyway. I should go to bed.

Leave a Reply

