I Am Baring My Soul: A Playlist

So, since I’m lazy, and unimaginative, mentally and emotionally drained from all the study today, I thought this post could be about the next five songs that play on my iPod. I regret this already. I have some really bad stuff on there. Like, really bad. Back from the Camp Rock era, when I secretly thought it was kind of cool (and still kinda do, kinda). Ahem. 

Here goes (don’t judge me):

  • Picture To Burn, by Taylor Swift: Most people that know me know that I love Taylor Swift. More than most things. Some people that kind of know me, but not that well, often make comments about Taylor Swift without appreciating the emotional impact it will have on me. Take the other night for instance: I was sitting with two ex-school “associates”, friends of friends (two guys, I should add), really nice, but not particularly chummy. Somehow the conversation got to Taylor Swift. Guy #1 said, “Remember when Katherine used to be so obsessed with Taylor Swift? Like, so obsessed?” Guy #2 laughed and agreed, and began humming ‘We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together’. If only they knew how deeply obsessed I am, currently, and probably will be for the rest of my life.
  • Take a Bow, by Rihanna: Okay, so this one’s not so bad. A bit of a flashback. I’ve never been particularly fanatic about Rihanna, but I definitely think she’s talented. For some reason, when this song came out, during my brief spout of actually listening to the radio, this song was my jam
  • Tonight, by The Jonas Brothers [from the 3D Concert Experience]: I knew the JBs would show up on this list. It was inevitable. I’m not sure if it was a phase, I’m not sure if I’m 100% over the phase. But in my earlier years in high school, I spent a large majority of my time believing I was going to someday marry Nick Jonas. Actually, I still think it could happen. I just need to enact Part A of my master plan (get to the USA) and I could have a fiancé by June. 
  • Bottoms Up, by Keke Palmer…I think: Um. I don’t remember where this came from. I think it was a mix from my cousin when we were about 13. Anyway, still a great song.
  • Stole My Heart, by One Direction: Yes, I have 1D on my iPod. So do you. I know you do. I like them, but I’ve noticed I have a 1D-threshold. Once I get past that point, I need to listen to something else. 
  • Don’t Forget To Remember Me, by Carrie Underwood: I love Carrie Underwood. I’m so glad my family got to go see her together last year. She is amazing, and if you don’t like her there is probably something wrong with your eardrums. You may want to check that out. 

Despite the list above, I must say I listen mostly to country music. In the past, I couldn’t even be in the same room as ‘club’ music. I can bear it now, but just barely.

I hope you enjoyed reading about some of my most humiliating tracks / guilty pleasures. I’d love to know the most cringe-worthy song on your iPod! Your secret’s safe with me!

2 thoughts on “I Am Baring My Soul: A Playlist

  1. I AM SO JEALOUS YOU GOT TO SEE CARRIE UNDERWOOD. I HAVE EVERYTHING SHE HAS EVER SANG ON MY iPOD AND PEOPLE MAKE FUN OF ME. I also love the T-Swizzle but I don’t think I could ever love her as much as you love her. Subsequently 50% of my iTunes library is Carrie Underwood and Taylor Swift. I also went through an Avril Lavigne phase that I can’t escape.

    • I love that you love the T-Swizzle. IF PEOPLE MAKE FUN OF YOU FOR LIKING CARRIE, JUST TELL THEM THAT THE UNDERLYING THEMES OF VENGEANCE IN ‘TWO BLACK CADILLACS’ AND ‘BEFORE HE CHEATS’ HAVE CHANGED YOUR MENTALITY FOREVER, MAKING YOU MORE BRUTAL AND MANIC THAN THEY COULD EVER IMAGINE. (wow, I kinda scared myself).
      Your task now: Save 1/4 of your earnings for a “concert fund”, you WILL go, you WILL have a fantastic time, and I WANT TO COME TOO!

Leave a Reply

