Sand, Science and Salt Water

My friends and I decided to spend today at the beach, on account of how Thursday was the hottest day this week. Of course, the heat meant that everyone, from the embarrassingly more-tan-than-me toddler in a multicoloured swimsuit to the group of people building a stalagmite-inspired castle/fortress in the sand, everyone, was there.

I’d driven up with my mum and sister because they wanted to see some friends staying in the caravan park nearby, which was great, but it unfortunately meant that I missed the road trip with my five friends on the 1.5 hour drive up. I kept myself updated by texting Lauren, “CAR TRIP! I’m in your car in spirit. Can you feel my presence?” which she could, and “What song are we listening to?” — to which she replied “Omg. Laura made a mix tape. One Direction.”

EW A BUG LANDED ON MY SCREEN.

LOL HE RAN AWAY FROM THE CURSOR.

I AM SO POWERFUL.

So… by late morning, I met up with my friends, we set up in the sand and headed into the water. I’m intimidated by THE WAVES so I stayed safely back with Sacha (No Further Than The Neck was our golden rule) while Lauren and Lisa went both got a crazy look in their eyes when they made eye contact before sprinting out into the deep. Laura and Erika sat on the beach to “watch the bags” (code for ‘ogling the talent’. Their words, not mine).

The rest of the day was spent tanning/posing strangely for photos/reading trashy magazines/talking beach science/ eating chips and grapes/feeding each other grapes/pretending to be goddesses back on the towels. Between us we had two iced coffees – one soy one regular – a chocolate, coffee and a vanilla milkshake.

Now I smell like mango body butter and I’m ready to collapse into bed (which I was about to do before I realised I had to write a blog post). Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

