You Are the Stars to Me

Hi Internet.

This post is going to be hard, and short, and probably too open but I feel like I need to write this here.

Just over a week ago, I got the worst news in the world. I lost someone who I never thought I’d have to live without right now. My dad.

I didn’t believe it when they told me. I still don’t believe it, and I think it’s going to take a while for it to sink in. I’m doing okay, and so is my family. We’ve all had to be incredibly strong this week and find happiness in memories and little pick-me-ups (like watching Rugrats on YouTube).

Thankfully, I have so many great memories of my dad. He really was just a big, adult-sized kid. He loved being the crazy annoying but hilariously enthusiastic “pool pest” who’d splash around and try to ruin any attempts at a relaxing dip in the pool. He was the only one in the family who would listen to the country radio station with me, and he’d try to convince our friends who came to visit that they would like it too. He’d always let me know that he loved me, and that he was proud of me.

Anyway, if you take one thing away from this post, it’s that life is short so you’ve got to enjoy every minute of it with the ones you love. And I’m sorry if I’ve bummed anyone out. I love you bloggers, you always cheer me up.

–Alyssa.

4 thoughts on “You Are the Stars to Me

  1. I am so, so, so sorry for your loss, Alyssa. So sorry. 😦 God, I can’t even imagine what you’re going through.

    I know we are only Friends on the Internet, and there are LOADS of real-life people who you can talk to that don’t only exist on the other side of a screen, and who actually live in the same time zone. But we’ve been blogging and commenting and Tweeting at each other for so long that I feel like we should have like a common-law marriage by now. Which is my way of saying if you ever feel the need, you can ALWAYS comment/e-mail/anything, if you ever want to talk. I’m totally here for you, and again, so very sorry. 😦

    Please accept this huge hug via the Internet. It is the biggest one I can manage.

  2. Thank you SO much Elodie. You don’t know how much that means to me. I feel the same way, like, even though there’s a screen and a whole lot of cables and Internet between us I feel like we’re the same person and best friends somehow.

    It’s been hard but I really think I will be okay– it’s just hard to know I guess. Thank you for your lovely, lovely words. And stay yourself, because you’re blogs/tweets/comments always turn a “meh day” into a good day. ❤ *hug*

Leave a Reply

